A series of mechanical mishaps

The past week saw the coincidence of a series of mechanical problems on the home front:

  • I was diagnosed with a meniscus tear after an MRI, presumably due to years of jogging although it only started to feel painful after Adap’skiii…. This was treated by an cortisone injection in the knee (addressing the inflammation hopefully for a few years but not the tear).
  • My bike back-wheel axis broke, which means I biked back home with the brake on! Good training! (And it does not hurt the knee!) Changing this wheel will cost me the equivalent of a full tank of gas, i.e. at least forty round trips to my office…
  • My Macbook video card broke down on Monday night, meaning truly no access to the data even with an external screen. (I wonder if this is yet another effect of the Philadelphia tea party!) Fortunately, this was right after my weekend backup so only a day of work on the Jaynes‘ slides is inaccessible. Fortunately too, the newer Macbook was already equipped with Kubuntu 10.10 and the switch was easy, except for having to use a mouse for the first time in ten years! As reported in this earlier post, the system works almost perfectly, with only the microphone and the wireless mouse not operational… If I could use the touch-pad for cut&paste, it would be perfect. Anyway, I should get my 2007 Macbook early this week with a new video card, courtesy of Apple despite the warranty having run out!
  • My radio stopped broadcasting the national public radio on Saturday evening for about half an hour. I found only the next day that this was due to an incredible…series of coincidences and accidents at the national public radio that stopped all broadcasting for half an hour! Nothing related with my own radio then.
  • My car thermometer started giving impossibly low temperatures, by a factor of -10⁰C or so… This is a very minor bug and an interesting calibration problem: I will try to check whether the discrepancy is reliable enough to build a correcting function!

5 Responses to “A series of mechanical mishaps”

  1. [...] limitations with the use of my laptop on video-projectors does not help. I may have to switch to a non-Mac machine in the near future… or eventually adopt the Mac OS.) It was also great to have time to share [...]

  2. [...] was also the time it took me to get from the plane to the car rental desk in Salt Lake City!). As my laptop went out of battery very quickly by not suspending properly (!), I managed to read and review three [...]

  3. [...] ago that I tried using them in conjunction with an Ubuntu system, not a perfect combination but smooth enough for my own purpose and idiosyncrasies… (Plus the guaranty of reliable material and hardware.) [...]

  4. [...] is in long-term preparation for the half-marathon in early October. If I do not suffer from [more] mechanical problems in the meanwhile, my hope is to run the half-marathon in less than 1:24 as this is a hard race with [...]

  5. [...] the slight difficulties of last week, I had a hard week on the computer front: indeed, on Monday, I received my 2007 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers