R [re-]exam

In what seems like an endless cuRse, I found this week I had to re-grade a dozen R exams a TA’s did not grade properly! The grades I (X) got are plotted below against those of my TA (Y). There is little connection between both gradings… As if this was not enough trouble, I also found exactly duplicated R codes in another R project around Introducing Monte Carlo methods with R that was returned a few weeks ago. Meaning I will have to draft a second round exam… (As Tom commented on an earlier post, team resolution of a given problem may be a positive attitude, but in the current case one student provided an A⁺⁺ answer, while two others clearly drafted an hasty resolution from the original.) Nonetheless, do not worry, I still love [teaching] R!

2 Responses to “R [re-]exam”

  1. [...] a long tradition (!) of changing the modus vivendi of each exam in our exploratory statistics with R class, we decided this year to give the students a large collection of exercises prior to the exam [...]

  2. [...] schedule fitting the start of the semester and of teaching (even though Robin had to teach my first R class in English on Friday). I also discovered that several of the participants were attending the Winter [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 557 other followers