precise pangolin (Ubuntu 12.04)

Following the crash of my hard drive right before leaving Kyoto, I bought a cheap Compaq Presario CQ57 to reinstall Ubuntu 12.04 over the weekend (and have a laptop available before leaving for Australia…)  It took about one hour to install from the DVD and everything seems to be working out of the box. The only part where I wasted time was the partition as I kept the original Windows 7 as dual boot, in case I recover my Macbook Pro early enough (and can get rid of this as a safety backup)… I had to remove one of the four partitions found on the computer to create unallocated space for the three Linux partitions (swat, / and /home, which took a while sine I had to do it under Windows 7 (which went for ever to update revisions I was not the slightest interested in…)

I wrote the above yesterday night and, this morning, Gilles Barés, computer wizz (and fantastic photographer!) manages to recover the contents of my hard-drive by reading it on another Macbook with Ubuntu on it… As it happens, there was nothing wrong with the hard-drive in the end, “simply” the motherboard was doing funny things..! I thus have now a new operational Macbook Pro with Ubuntu 12.04! Plus this backup Compaq I may leave at home for emergencies…

A further update a day later (07/04)is that AppleCare eventually accepted to handle my Macbook (after forcing me to reinstall an Apple OS on the disk!) and found that the issue was the cable connecting the motherboard to the hard-drive. This is repaired and I thus hope to take my old laptop with me to Australia in three days!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers