a day in Chicago

Another busy day as I visited the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. This was my first time visit to this impressive building (and my first visit to Chicago for 25 years…) I actually had to leave Ames at 4:30 (am!) to catch a plane in Des Moines at 6:50 and be at the Chicago Booth before my first appointment at 10… Everything worked out fine, despite the potential for disruption due to the storm Sandy (just spotted a few big waves along the waterfront on my way to the University), and I had a definitely productive sequence of discussions. The talk on ABC was again well-attended and, because this was an econometric seminar (as in Princeton), definitely lively with a flow of questions all along. (There were also a few people from Biology, for whom the focus on our consistency result was presumably less interesting than for econometricians.) As in Ames, I did not manage to reach the part on empirical likelihood. Fodder for another seminar! The day ended by a meal in a superb restaurant with my favourite wine, Saint-Joseph, after which I was ready for a few hours of sleep..! And then a few hours to spend in the Art Institute of Chicago before flying back to Paris. Direct, courtesy of Sandy.

One Response to “a day in Chicago”

  1. Terrific! I would love to visit the University of Chicago once. Glad Sandy did not disrupt your time schedule.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 720 other followers