machine learning as buzzword

In one of his posts, my friend Larry mentioned that popular posts had to mention the Bayes/frequentist opposition in the title… I think mentioning machine learning is also a good buzzword to increase the traffic! I did spot this phenomenon last week when publishing my review of Kevin Murphy’s Machine Learning: the number of views and visitors jumped by at least a half, exceeding the (admittedly modest) 1000 bar on two consecutive days. Interestingly, the number of copies of Machine Learning (sold via my amazon associate link) did not follow this trend: so far, I only spotted a few copies sold, in similar amounts to the number of copies of Spatio-temporal Statistics I reviewed the week before. Or most books I review, positively or negatively! (However, I did spot a correlated increase in overall amazon associate orderings and brazenly attributed the command of a Lego robotic set to a “machine learner”! And as of yesterday Og‘s readers massively ordered 152 236 copies of the latest edition of Andrew’s Bayesian Data Analysis, Thanks!)

3 Responses to “machine learning as buzzword”

  1. I think it helps to be as well known and respected as Larry Wasserman. I’m writing a whole series of blog posts about Bayes vs frequentism, but I haven’t hit the big time yet…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 627 other followers