Cello+piano recital

On Friday night, I attended a cello and piano recital in Paris, given by Jessie Ann Richardson (cello) and Lynn Carter (piano), both from the Royal Academy of Music. I had not been to a classical music concert for ages and I was very much impressed by the talent and depth of both artists. They played together pieces for cello and piano by Schumann and Rachmaninov, as well as the famous solo cello Bach’s suite no. 1 and Ligeti‘s sonate, and the piano version of the Dance Macabre by Saint-Saëns. The contemporary sonata of Ligeti was quite astounding in its complex rendering (I had never heard this piece before) and I very much like the Bach suite (of course!) but also the aggressive version of the Dance Macabre. It is quite wonderful to see artists of that age achieving such a mature mastering of their art. Both are part of emerging ensembles, the Piatti Quartet and the Liberta Trio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: