Ubuntu issues

screen shot with ubuntu 10.10It may be that weekends are the wrong time to tamper with computer OS… Last Sunday, I noticed my Bluetooth icon had a “turn off” option and since I only use Bluetooth for my remote keyboard and mouse when in Warwick, I turned it off, thinking I would turn it on again next week. This alas led to a series of problems, maybe as a coincidence since I also updated the Kubuntu 14.04 system over the weekend.

  1. I cannot turn Bluetooth on again! My keyboard and mouse are no longer recognised or detected. No Bluetooth adapter is found by the system setting. Similarly, sudo modprobe bluetooth shows nothing. I have installed a new interface called Blueman but to no avail. The fix suggested on forums to run rfkill unblock bluetooth does not work either… Actually rfkill list all only returns the wireless device. Which is working fine.
  2. My webcam vanished as well. It was working fine before the weekend.
  3. Accessing some webpages, including all New York Times articles, now takes forever on Firefox! If less on Chrome.

Is this a curse of sorts?!

As an aside, I also found this week that I cannot update Adobe reader from version 9 to version 11, as Adobe does not support Linux versions any more… Another bummer. If one wants to stick to acrobat.

Update [03/02]

Thanks to Ingmar and Thomas, I got  both my problems solved! The Bluetooth restarted after I shut down my unplugged computer, in connection with an USB over-current protection. And Thomas figured out my keyboard had a key to turn the webcam off and on, key that I had pressed when trying to restart the Bluetooth device. Et voilà!

Leave a Reply

