Altos de Losada [guest wine post by Susie]

[Here is a wine criticism written by Susie Bayarri in 2013 about a 2008 bottle of Altos de Losada, a wine from Leon:]

altosThe cork is fantastic. Very good presentation and labelling of the bottle. The wine  color is like dark cherry, I would almost say of the color of blood. Very bright although unfiltered. The cover is d16efinitely high. The tear is very nice (at least in my glass), slow, wide, through parallel streams… but it does not dye my glass at all.

The bouquet is its best feature… it is simply voluptuous… with ripe plums as well as vanilla, some mineral tone plus a smoky hint. I cannot quite detect which wood is used… I have always loved the bouquet of this wine…

In mouth, it remains a bit closed. Next time, I will make sure I decant it (or I will use that Venturi device) but it is nonetheless excellent… the wine is truly fruity, but complex as well (nothing like grape juice). The tannins are definitely present, but tamed and assimilated (I think they will continue to mellow) and it has just a hint of acidity… Despite its alcohol content, it remains light, neither overly sweet nor heavy. The after-taste offers a pleasant bitterness… It is just delicious, an awesome wine!

Leave a Reply

