do cartoons help?

I received a (mass) email from Taylor & Francis about creating a few cartoons related to recent papers… As in the example above about the foot strike of Kilian Jornet. With a typo on Font-Romeu. Apart from the authors themselves, and maybe some close relatives!, I have trouble seeing the point of this offer, as cartoons are unlikely to attract academic readers interested in the contents of the paper.

3 Responses to “do cartoons help?”

  1. As much as I like the idea of the journal paying for an illustrator’s services (my wife is an illustrator) I suspect a better use of money (if impact graphics are to be bought) would be to get some eye-catching infographics made! a la https://datavisualization.ch

  2. The cartoon guy’s gait and form sure appears to be bad.

    — And even if I’m wrong in my view of the cartoon guy’s form, the point still stands. I think his form is bad so the data must be bad too.

    • I thought the same when seeing the cartoon, that I never saw a runner running that way, even less a trail runner…! But then this picture of Kilian Jornet proved me wrong. It looks as if the illustrator went “Kilian Jornet” on Google images and picked the most iconic ones.

Leave a Reply

