Archive for awards

nominees for Nebula 2022 [reposted]

Posted in Books, Kids with tags , , , on March 23, 2023 by xi'an

Books I had not read, although some are on my reading list…



  • A Prayer for the Crown-Shy, Becky Chambers [to read]
  • “Bishop’s Opening,” R.S.A. Garcia
  • I Never Liked You Anyway, Jordan Kurella
  • Even Though I Knew the End, C.L. Polk
  • High Times in the Low Parliament, Kelly Robson

Blackwell-Rosenbluth awards 2022

Posted in pictures, Statistics, Travel, University life with tags , , , , , , , , , on November 23, 2022 by xi'an

Here are the Winners of the j-ISBA Blackwell-Rosenbluth awards 2022, between those based on the time zones UTC-12 to UTC-1 (aka the Americas):

and those based on the time zones UTC+0 to UTC+13 (aka the Americasc):

Congrats!!! They will all present their webinar on 28 or 29 November at 1pm UTC (Universal Time Coordinate).

Blackwell-Rosenbluth Awards 2021

Posted in Statistics, University life with tags , , , , , , , , , , , on November 1, 2021 by xi'an

Congratulations to the winners of the newly created award! This j-ISBA award is intended for junior researchers in different areas of Bayesian statistics. And named after David Blackwell and Arianna  Rosenbluth. They will present their work at the newly created JB³ seminars on 10 and 12 November, both at 1pm UTC. (The awards are broken into two time zones, corresponding to the Americas and the rest of the World.)

UTC+0 to UTC+13

Marta Catalano, Warwick University
Samuel Livingstone, University College London
Dootika Vats, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

UTC-12 to UTC-1

Trevor Campbell, University of British Columbia
Daniel Kowal, Rice University
Yixin Wang, University of Michigan

congrats, Pierre!!!

Posted in Statistics with tags , , , , , , , , , on March 3, 2021 by xi'an

RSS honours recipients for 2020

Posted in Statistics with tags , , , , , , , , , , on March 16, 2020 by xi'an

Just read the news that my friend [and co-author] Arnaud Doucet (Oxford) is the winner of the 2020 Guy Silver Medal award from the Royal Statistical Society. I was also please to learn about David Spiegelhalter‘s Guy Gold medal (I first met David at the fourth Valencia Bayesian meeting in 1991, where he had a poster on the very early stages of BUGS) and Byron Morgan‘s Barnett Award for his indeed remarkable work on statistical ecology and in particular Bayesian capture recapture models. Congrats to all six recipients!

%d bloggers like this: