Archive for The Gathering Storm

Meet the author

Posted in Books with tags , , , on November 17, 2010 by xi'an

Last evening, I had the (incredible!) opportunity to attend Brandon Sanderson’s reading and signing event at WHSmith. The event started at 7pm with a short presentation of the author, followed by him reading an extract from the Prologue of Towers of Midnight and then him answering questions from the (large) audience. Besides the traditional question of “who wrote what” (which could not decently be answered!), there were questions about Brandon Sanderson’s favourite characters, the schedule for the next and final volume (another 18 months, most likely!), the planning for other books in the Wheel of Time universe… Nothing really new, except for the bad news of having to wait an extra six month for the final (yes, f.i.n.a.l!) volume of the series. Brandon Sanderson was then kind enough to sign all the books of the hundred readers who showed up in WHSmith, incl. my copy of The Gathering Storm. (My copy of Towers of Midnight still being in Philadelphia, as I used my amazonassociate account!) All this half an hour from home!

Brandon Sanderson in Paris

Posted in Books with tags , , , on November 6, 2010 by xi'an

WHSmith Paris sent me this email tonight:

WHSmith – 248, rue de Rivoli – 75001 Paris – M°Concorde – Tuesday 16th November – 7pm –
Brandon Sanderson will present and sign The Gathering Storm and Towers of Midnight,.

Fantasy author Brandon Sanderson was born in Nebraska on December 19, 1975.He earned his Master’s degree in Creative Writing in 2005 from Brigham Young University, where he was on the staff of Leading Edge, a semi-professional speculative fiction magazine published by the university. His published novels include Elantris (2005), the teenage fiction novel Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians (2007), and the three-part Mistborn series, consisting of Mistborn: The Final Empire (2006), The Well of Ascension, (2007), and The Hero of Ages. (2008).

Following the death of Robert Jordan in 2007, Jordan’s wife and editor Harriet McDougal recruited Sanderson to finish Jordan’s epic multi-volume fantasy series The Wheel of Time from Jordan’s extensive drafts and notes. Harriet asked him to complete the series after being deeply impressed by Mistborn: The Final Empire. A Memory of Light, originally slated to be the final book in The Wheel of Time series was split into three volumes. The first, The Gathering Storm, was released on October 27, 2009. Towers of Midnight, was just released on 2 November 2010. A Memory of Light will tentatively follow in November 2011.

It is rather amazing to see that The Wheel of Time is popular enough in France to bring the author to Paris for signing… If I can find the time to go to the Rivoli arcades after my R class, I will bring my The Gathering Storm to WHSmith as my copy of Towers of Midnight is still in transit.

Towers of Midnight [-99]

Posted in Books with tags , , , , on July 25, 2010 by xi'an

The penultimate book in the shelf-olic series of The Wheel of Time is called Towers of Midnight and it is scheduled to be published on November 2, which makes it 99 days from today. Here is the planned U.S. cover, so much in line with the previous covers that I am now getting used to their ugliness and poor connection with the books. (Search the Web for an even uglier earlier version, where characters are suffering from the vanishing mid-body disease!) Still removing the cover when reading in the metro, of course! (On the other hand, a much more interesting series of covers have just been designed for the e-book versions of the fourteen books.) As for The Gathering Storm, the thirteenth book in the series is written by Brandon Sanderson, following the threads weaved by Robert Jordan. While the dust jacket entry is too dramatic for my taste,

The Last Battle has started. The seals on the Dark One’s prison are crumbling. The Pattern itself is unraveling, and the armies of the Shadow have begun to boil out of the Blight.

Dovie’andi se tovya sagain. It’s time to toss the dice.

The sun has begun to set upon the Third Age.

Perrin Aybara is now hunted by specters from his past: Whitecloaks, a slayer of wolves, and the responsibilities of leadership. All the while, an unseen foe is slowly pulling a noose tight around his neck. To prevail, he must seek answers in Tel’aran’rhiod and find a way–at long last–to master the wolf within him or lose himself to it forever.

Meanwhile, Matrim Cauthon prepares for the most difficult challenge of his life. The creatures beyond the stone gateways–the Aelfinn and the Eelfinn–have confused him, taunted him, and left him hanged, his memory stuffed with bits and pieces of other men’s lives. He had hoped that his last confrontation with them would be the end of it, but the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills. The time is coming when he will again have to dance with the Snakes and the Foxes, playing a game that cannot be won. The Tower of Ghenjei awaits, and its secrets will reveal the fate of a friend long lost.

This penultimate novel of Robert Jordan’s #1 New York Times bestselling series–the second of three based on materials he left behind when he died in 2007–brings dramatic and compelling developments to many threads in the Pattern. The end draws near.

I hope I will enjoy this one-before-last book as much as The Gathering Storm. Although Sanderson’s style is not particularly lively, he is nicely bringing the series to its conclusion without creating new threads that will justify a fifteenth or sixteenth volume!