Death of a pigeon…

pict58131

Yesterday afternoon, a pigeon crashed in my office window hard enough to die (but not enough to break my window!). This morning, I thought no more about it until I saw the imprint it left on the window pane, photographed here.  This is quite an impressive “last-live” picture that manages to capture all the details of the surprised pigeon, as well as a feeling of movement and some more metaphysical meaning of the final moment of this unsuspecting pigeon. It somehow reminds me of the representations of the flying souls in classical paintings, with this white opaque evanescent rendering (and also because souls are classically represented as doves). In a sense, this is also the ultimate photography, when you force the subject onto the photography plate!

4 Responses to “Death of a pigeon…”

  1. […] this time, a pigeon crashes into one of my house windows and leaves an imprint! (This happened in 2008 and 2009.) I did not hear the crash nor did I find any trace of the poor bird so it either survived […]

  2. guessworker Says:

    One good thing is happening already at Gateway of India after the terrorist attacks at the Taj Hotel in Mumbai. The Pigeons are returning.

    http://onlybombay.blogspot.com/2008/12/pigeons-of-taj-mahal-hotel.html

  3. Well, actually, this is my office-at-home! A pigeon could not hit my office window at CREST… And my kids pointed out to me I missed out completely since the bird was a dove and not a pigeon!!!

  4. Down to Earth (and deeper) Says:

    You must have freakishly clean window panes at CREST!
    [from “desecrating: what the hollow (wo)man said”]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.