Introduction to Monte Carlo methods with R and Bayesian Essentials with R

sales1Here are the  download figures for my e-book with George as sent to me last week by my publisher Springer-Verlag.  With an interesting surge in the past year. Maybe simply due to new selling strategies of the published rather to a wider interest in the book. (My royalties have certainly not increased!) Anyway thanks to all readers. As an aside for wordpress wannabe bloggers, I realised it is now almost impossible to write tables with WordPress, another illustration of the move towards small-device-supported blogs. Along with a new annoying “simpler” (or more accurately dumber) interface and a default font far too small for my eyesight. So I advise alternatives to wordpress that are more sympathetic to maths contents (e.g., using MathJax) and comfortable editing.

salesBessAnd the same for the e-book with Jean-Michel, which only appeared in late 2013. And contains more chapters than Introduction to Monte Carlo methods with R. Incidentally, a reader recently pointed out to me the availability of a pirated version of The Bayesian Choice on a Saudi (religious) university website. And of a pirated version of Introducing Monte Carlo with R on a Saõ Paulo (Brazil) university website. This may be alas inevitable, given the diffusion by publishers of e-chapters that can be copied with no limitations…

3 Responses to “Introduction to Monte Carlo methods with R and Bayesian Essentials with R”

  1. I am a R programmer who dabbles in the simples tmonte carlo simulations of project task estimations. So I know how to simulate a normal distribution but not triangular or beta. Do you recommend this or another simpler book ?

    • I would advise this book, obviously, if only because I am one of the authors. There are many alternatives including some free on line, though!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.