in a house of lies [book review]

While I found the latest Rankin’s Rebus novels a wee bit disappointing, this latest installment in the stories of the Edinburghian ex-detective is a true pleasure! Maybe because it takes the pretext of a “cold case” suddenly resurfacing to bring back to life characters met in earlier novels of the series. And the borderline practice of DI Rebus himself. Which should matter less at a stage when Rebus has been retired for 10 years (I could not believe it had been that long!, but I feel like I followed Rebus for most of his carreer…) The plot is quite strong with none of the last minute revelations found in some earlier volumes, with a secondary plot that is much more modern and poignant. I also suspect some of the new characters will reappear in the next books, as well as the consequences of a looming Brexit [pushed by a loony PM] on the Scottish underworld… (No,. I do not mean TorysTories!)

4 Responses to “in a house of lies [book review]”

  1. filed under statistics?

  2. Emùmanuel Charpentier Says:

    > No,. I do not mean Torys!

    Ahem… Unless I’ve been misguided by about a decade of Guardian reading, wouldn’t that be “No, I don’t mean Tories” ?

    Unless I’m missing a too-subtle-for-me pun, of course…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.