Invitation au voyage

“Là, tout n’est qu’ordre et beauté,
Luxe, calme et volupté.”

Charles Beaudelaire, Les fleurs du Mal.

In preparation for a series of plane trips over the coming months, I ordered (and received) a noise-cancelling headphone. Although they are definitely pricey, I picked the Bose QuietComfort 15 Headphones and they are definitely upscale! The noise reduction provided by those headphones is almost frightening and some people who tried those headphones found the effect too strong for their taste! (As I usually add earplugs to my (old Sennheiser) headphone when I fly, I am not worried about this type of side-effect!)  I only tested the noise reduction with the traffic on the periphérique flowing through my open office window in Porte Dauphine and it reduced to a slight hum… The design is also very well-done, with the audio cable easily detachable and the battery fitting in one of the headphones. The only “negative” aspect so far is the absence of volume control on the cable, but since my primary goal is to use these headphones to sleep and relax in a plane, this is minor. (Obviously, the around-the-ear fit also gets uncomfortable after a while with high temperatures, again an unlikely combination with long distance flights…)

3 Responses to “Invitation au voyage”

  1. […] another across seats on different aisles as if they were alone… Sitting right behind me. Even the noise cancelling headphone was not up to it! They seemed to be part of a media company as they were discussing buying the […]

  2. […] dawn had come and stood up to raise the blinds next to my desk. Completely forgetting about the earphones on my head. The obvious then occurred: the earphone cord stretched, pulling the teacup over and I […]

  3. […] algebra: he happened to be a professor in computer science at the University of Victoria. The Bose earphones did marvel to cancel the engine noise in the plane, if not the screams of the kids in the next […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.