Journal of Open Source Software

A week ago, I received a request for refereeing a paper for the Journal of Open Source Software, which I have never seen (or heard of) before. The concept is quite interesting with a scope much broader than statistical computing (as I do not know anyone in the board and no-one there seems affiliated with a Statistics department). Papers are very terse, describing the associated code in one page or two, and the purpose of refereeing is to check the code. (I was asked to evaluate an MCMC R package but declined for lack of time.) Which is a pretty light task if the code is friendly enough to operate right away and provide demos. Best of luck to this endeavour!

4 Responses to “Journal of Open Source Software”

  1. What is the purpose of this post? I havent learned anything

    • I did not know about this journal till I got this review proposal, so I presume _some_ Og’s readers learned about its existence as well!

  2. […] article was first published on R – Xi'an's Og, and kindly contributed to […]

  3. […] Please comment on the article here: R – Xi’an’s Og […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.