stranger things

A rather strange incident occurred to me this morn as I was optimising my backpack for my trip to Bristol. I found inside a stash of credit card receipts along with a booklet of down-town Paris metro tickets. As I hardly ever keep credit card receipts, I was rather surprised at it and, looking through them, the more because I could not place these purchases, although they mostly were spent in the neighbourhood of the former INSEE building in Malakoff. Checking further at the end digits of the credit card, I realised these were not agreeing with mine and thus that they had mysteriously ended up in my bag. The receipts covered the period from 21 January till 26 January and did not reveal much more than a rather regular pattern with a visit to a local bakery in the morning, sometimes followed by a coffee, then a modest lunch in one fast food joint or another in Issy (not far from my PariSanté Campus office) or Massy, and an usually more substantial diner back in Malakoff. Including one in the iconic Timbre-Poste pub! And one late-nighter in Résidence de la Tour (de Malakoff) where some of my visitors of yore stayed. I still cannot fathom how these receipts came into my possession and find it rather uncanny that they connect to my past life in Malakoff…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.