end of a long era [1982-2017]

This afternoon I went to CREST to empty my office there from books and a few papers (like the original manuscript version of Monte Carlo Statistical Methods). This is because the research centre, along with the ENSAE graduate school (my Alma mater), is moving to a new building on the Saclay plateau, next to École Polytechnique. As part of this ambitious migration of engineering schools from downtown Paris to a brand new campus there. Without getting sentimental about this move, it means leaving the INSEE building in Malakoff, on the outskirts of downtown Paris, which has been an enjoyable part of my student and then academic life from 1982 till now. And also leaving the INSEE Paris Club runners! (I am quite uncertain about being as active at the new location, if only because going there by bike is a bit more of a challenge. To be addressed anyway!) And I left behind my accumulation of conference badges (although I should try to recycle them for the incoming BNP 11 in Paris!).

5 Responses to “end of a long era [1982-2017]”

  1. X,

    In future années sabbatiques on devra travailler ensemble à l’IHP dans mon quartier! Or we can go to Montparnasse and work next to Stan.

  2. Fabrizio Leisen Says:

    I hope that the badge recycling will not lead to name everyone in the BNP conference with your name, like a conference of clones!!!

    • Actually, I was thinking exactly of this, when telling my kids at dinner, that we [BNP participants] could all go as Xi’an’s through the conference!!!

Leave a Reply

