Maverick Meerkat [10.10]

About one year after I failed to install Ubuntu 9.10 on my Macbook pro, I had another try with Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick Meerkat!) Here is a copy of the screen:

The nice thing is that it worked right out of the installation CD. No add-on for wireless to install. (This post was made with the new Mac!) The only remaining difficulty is to work out how to cut-and-paste with the touchpad, as the sound isssue has been solved thanks to the special MacBookPro/Maverick page. Moving from Ubuntu to Kubuntu was about as seamless,

and while I still have a few items to install, including acrobat, both R and LaTeX are working fine. This is a constant conclusion with Linux: it eventually works out if one wait for the right version, with the obvious drawback that new material does not fit this scheme!

10 Responses to “Maverick Meerkat [10.10]”

  1. […] not help. I may have to switch to a non-Mac machine in the near future… or eventually adopt the Mac OS.) It was also great to have time to share with friends and discussing research as well as the […]

  2. […] in buying Macs, and it is only three years ago that I tried using them in conjunction with an Ubuntu system, not a perfect combination but smooth enough for my own purpose and idiosyncrasies… […]

  3. […] much commenting, except that, since Obamicon.me was not available for registration, I had to use a screenshot software to extract the above image of someone generally presumed to be Thomas Bayes, and […]

  4. […] 2.11.1 version of R does no longer suffer from this painful freeze in the graphics (at least on my Kubuntu 10.10 […]

  5. […] an intermitent disappearance of the posts on the ‘Og, depending on the operating system: Ubuntu 10.10 seems to be […]

  6. […] it worked under VESA, the system got unstable to the point that I had no choice but to install Maverick Meerkat (Ubuntu 10.10) to make it work again… This proved rather unsuccessful in that the new […]

  7. […] so only a day of work on the Jaynes‘ slides is inaccessible. Fortunately too, the newer Macbook was already equipped with Kubuntu 10.10 and the switch was easy, except for having to use a mouse […]

  8. […] Xi'an's Og an attempt at bloggin, from scratch… « Maverick Meerkat [10.10] […]

  9. I see you couldn’t resist playing with the effects on Cheese ;) Did the same when I installed Ubuntu 9.

  10. Ah yes, the curse of wireless and Ubuntu – i know it well. I recently failed to get wireless working on my notebook, but will try again soon and hopefully it should work eventually. 10.10 looks so shiny and fast that its really worth the effort.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.