5k in sight

While I was doing my last serious training for the incoming local 5K race, I hurt myself last Monday. During the last 300m of the series, the tendons behind my right knee started to scream that enough was enough… (Those tendons have been sore since the Argentan half-marathon and the very reason why I did not do better in Boulogne.) I still ended up the 300m in 55:13 and the series with an average 56:66 but it hurt so much that I took a break for two days. This morning I had a test run of 45mn in the local park (where I saw four raucous green parakeets as well as two dog owners in a shouting contest, much to the shame of their placid dogs!) and it feels ok enough to contemplate running on Saturday night in around 16mn, like last year. This race has nothing special but is not easy either because of a long climb uphill on the second half of the track.

Ps—I have been training on a running track once or twice a week since early April with friends from the Insee Paris Club, running series from 300m (x15) to 1000m (x6), with an extra day of 2000m/16000m/1200m/800m/400m at a lower pace.

2 Responses to “5k in sight”

  1. […] (If you wonder in which part of the World I run these days, it is near Paris. But four or five parakeets have been released in the local park two years ago and they now grow and multiply despite the harsh […]

  2. […] versus 50yrs Darn, the tendons I mentioned in the previous post were just on hold and they made this clear after the third k. So I limped to the arrival line, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.