Valencia 9 [poster]

Yesterday night, I looked around for a LaTeX package to turn our Savage-Dickey paper into a proper poster for Valencia 9. I found a0poster as the first output on google, so I switched to it with a reasonable result (I think!):

The main trouble with a0poster is that the columns and hence the boxes do not naturally fit the text within but that they have to be set by hand. I looked around for a while before finding a way to insert a (Ben Nevis) picture as a background before hitting this solution:

\usepackage{eso-pic}
\newcommand\BackgroundPic{
\put(0,0){
\parbox[b][\paperheight]{\paperwidth}{%
\vfill
\centering
\includegraphics[width=\paperwidth,height=\paperheight]{Nevis5.ps}%
\vfill
}}}

which works quite well. (Except for the requirement to insert postscript graphs.)

5 Responses to “Valencia 9 [poster]”

  1. […] is one of my areas of interest, I was intrigued by Xiao-Li Meng’s comments during my poster in Benidorm that I was using the “wrong” bridge sampling estimator when trying to […]

  2. […] the audience will mostly be made of people who had already heard me talk on that topic or seen my poster in Benidorm. Here are the slides […]

  3. […] diffusion on the force fields in those systems as evolving vector fields. And then I gave my poster on the Savage-Dickey paradox, hence missing all the other posters in this session… The main […]

  4. […] to an internet café and renting an ethernet cable for one hour. The hotel is unsurprisingly the soulless and unhelpful place I expected and I do not find any appeal in the high rise landscape constituting […]

  5. […] a reason why few contributed talks were accepted. And the less appealing feature of having poster sessions, a highlight of the Valencia meetings, starting at 10pm. Right after the [early Spanish] […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.